Foreword

The Editorial Team

The Editorial Team regards the ‘Hong Kong Dance Overview Project’ as one to, predominantly with focused essays, explore and study the different aspects of Hong Kong’s dance. Departing from problematics and objectives, thorough analyses are conducted from diversified perspectives, namely philosophical, sociological, and cultural studies, among others. Compared to other parts of Asia, Taiwan and Malaysia for example, where there are academic institutes to focus on dance research, one must confront the scant research and discussion on Hong Kong’s dance, and even performing arts. Many practitioners would agree that, in the face of increasing dance productions, there is not a proper subsidy system to support scrupulous studies that respond to the dance in this city. We cannot simply rely on the effort of scholars and critics. Hence the positioning of the Overview as ‘a research-based publication with the potential to be recognised as an academic one’, with a view to instigating the respect for depth among the funding bodies, the practitioners, and the public. Published bi-lingually, the Overview enhances accessibility of Hong Kong’s dance information to worldwide performing art researchers who work in English. As more and more essays are accumulated over years, we hope that the Overview will be regarded with seriousness, and regularly subsidized, by those who are concerned with Hong Kong’s dance. Dance research, after all, should not be expendable to the performing arts.

 

The Overview studies incidents and phenomenon of the year which are telling of the various aspects of the dance scene. The value of dance as the critical component of Hong Kong’s performing arts, its impact on the society, structural problems and of the subsidy system, and development potential are evaluated from the perspectives of formal characteristics, curation, marketing, and art criticism. Certain administrative reasons render the publication of the Overview 2017 only in the 3rd quarter of 2020. However, speed is not a qualifier of depth. The distance of time is a perspective.  Since the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, and its 10 strategic partners, presented ‘Hong Kong Dance Festival 2010’, Hong Kong has seen some small-scale festivals but they have not successfully triggered the dance sector’s interest to dig deep into the notion of ‘festival’.  To regard ‘dance festival’ as an operation practice conducted all over the world, one can categorise the actual events into, 1. Annual carnivals of the ‘cultural city’, aiming to attract residents in local and nearby areas and to generate income directly from box office and indirectly from tourism, catering, and shopping; 2. Business operations of the dance sector to bolster the circulation of cultural capital, with overseas programme buyers as the focused audience group; 3. Conscious deployment of ‘festival’ as the means to encourage probe into specific topics or the art form. It goes without saying that the above categorisation is hardly exhaustive. How has ‘City Contemporary Dance Festival’ in 2017 (and ‘Hong Kong Dance Exchange’ and ‘Tai Kwun Dance Season’ that immediately followed in 2018) give shape to the imagination of dance festivals of the future? Two essays on CCDF discuss the glocalisation of dance festivals, and their collaboration with art criticism. In ‘After the Festival--Insights for Hong Kong’s Dance Sector from the 1st City Contemporary Dance Festival (CCDF)’, Eveline Wong studies the positioning and value of dance festivals from a glocalisation perspective. Bernice Chan reviews the role and limitation of performing arts criticism at festivals in ‘The Considerations of Organisers of Art Criticism Events: On the “City Contemporary Dance Festival Chatbox Forum 2017”’.

 

To perform dance in unconventional performance space poses challenges to the choreographers’ and dancers’ minds and bodies. In recent years, there have been increasing collaborations between dance and the visual arts, expanding the room for dance-making. The coalescence of the performing and visual arts is becoming a tangible aspiration. Is there a way for their similarities and differences to dialogue so that each can benefit from the other and contribute to Hong Kong’s art development? Lee Hoi-yin Joanna gives an account of the encounter and dynamics of dance and visual arts, and its impacts on the dance-makers’ ideas and performance, in ‘What is the “x” When We Talk about "Visual Arts x Dance”?’. Collaboration can be driven out of the need for resources. In a neo-liberal economy such as Hong Kong, for performing art groups to be self-sufficient enterprises is arduous, to put it lightly. Corporate investors’ idea of ‘return-on-investment’ on the performing arts is a colossal barricade. Are these reasons for the performing arts to rely heavily on public funding? Damian Cheng argues how Hong Kong performing art groups will (not) pursue cultural industries strategies in ‘The Hong Kong Ballet’s Way to Cultural Industries?’.

 

 

Arguably there are a lot more happening in Hong Kong’s dance than what can be discussed in four essays. Albeit the limitation of availability of writers of dance, when compared to those of other art forms, we are aware of the long way to go before we reach the standard of academic writing, both in terms length and depth. Within the parameters of resources available to the Overview, we strive for the best magnitude and depth possible.

 

Financially supported by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and published by Felixism Creation, Hong Kong Dance Overview 2017 is conceived and edited by Lee Hoi-yin Joanna, Wong Chung-yu Eveline, and Chan Wai-ki Felix. We are grateful to the writers, interviewees and other parties who have supported its publication. The Overview 2017 is available for viewing and download on this website. Hong Kong Dance Overview 2018 will be available by the 1st quarter of 2021. The scope of this website goes beyond public funding requirement and is dedicated to the research of dance in Hong Kong. On the foundation of the Overview, it hosts information of other projects curated by the same team, undertakings of the Resident Researchers, reference depository, among others. ‘Hong Kong Dance Research’ aims to nurture dialectical discourse through diversified mode of participation. Your comments and support are going to mean a lot to us.

 Chinese Version

English version

序言

編輯室

編輯室在擬定「香港舞蹈概述計劃」的宗旨時,著重以專題文章形式,就香港舞蹈的不同面貌進行深度探索,從研究動機以及目的為起點,以哲學、美學、社會學、文化研究等多元角度切入,豐富討論層次。誠然,比對台灣或馬來西亞等設有專科舞蹈研究學院的地區,有關香港舞蹈、甚至表演藝術的研究與論述確實不足。也許不少業界人士認同,面對不斷累積的舞蹈實踐及大量數據,不能單靠學者及評論人的努力,本地欠缺適切的資助制度,協助研究者以更深入的鑽研方式回應本地舞蹈發展。故此,編輯室通過定位《概述》為「以研究為基礎(research-based)、可發展成學術水平的出版」,希望喚起資助單位、業界、公眾對深度的重視,並透過雙語出版,讓香港舞蹈資料更容易成為以英語進行的國際表演藝術研究的一部分。經年累積成果之後,《概述》有望成為值得關注香港舞蹈的人士恆常支持及嚴肅看待的項目,而不是表演藝術的附屬品。

 

《概述》以年度事件及現象為起點,探討舞蹈業界的不同面向,以表演形式、地緣性策展、市場、評論等角度,審視舞蹈作為表演藝術重要組成的價值、對社會的影響、資助制度的結構性等問題,以致發展可能性。基於行政因素,論及2017的《概述》在2020年第三季才出版,但是深入的分析不爭朝夕,時間的距離也是一種視野。自從香港藝術發展局聯同十個策略夥伴舉辦「香港舞蹈節2010」以來,本地縱有小型的舞蹈節舉行,但是未能促成業界深入的探索。假如把「舞蹈節」這個全球通用的作業實踐,分類為:一、嘉年華式的年度城市盛事,以「文化之城」的形象吸引本地及鄰近地區市民,獲取直接的票房收入及間接的旅遊、餐飲及購物消費;二、推動舞蹈界文化資源流動的市場作業,以其他地區的節目買手為對象;三、以舞蹈節為方法的策劃,目的為推進議題或發展舞蹈藝術。以上三種當然不能概括所有舞蹈節,2017年的「城市當代舞蹈節」(以及接踵而來2018年的「香港比舞」以及「大館舞季」),為香港對舞蹈節的未來打開了甚麼的想像?兩篇文章率先論及關於舞蹈節全球在地化、以及與藝評協作的議題:黃頌茹〈舞蹈節之後——第一屆城市當代舞蹈節(CCDF)帶給香港舞蹈業界的啟示〉,從地緣文化角度切入,探討舞蹈節的定位及意義;陳國慧〈藝評活動策劃者的思考:從「城市當代舞蹈節 2017 論壇」說起〉從評論人的角度綜觀香港舞蹈評論在舞蹈節的角色及限制。

 

在異於一般的演出空間表演舞蹈,對於編舞、舞者來說,無論是創作意念上還是身體上皆是挑戰。香港近年越來越多舞蹈演出與視覺藝術連結,為舞蹈業界帶來更大的創作空間,令人盼望表演與視覺藝術跨界融合的可能性。舞蹈與視藝之間的異同如何扣上,達致雙贏,是香港整體藝術發展需要尋找的關鍵。李海燕在〈在「視藝」和「舞蹈」之間,需要甚麼連接詞?〉中,探討了異於一般舞蹈範疇及場域與舞蹈創作及表演形式之間的張力。藝術的跨界融合,亦有可能出於資源需要。香港是個新自由主義經濟體,表演藝術要成為自給自足的產業,並非易事;企業投資者對於表演藝術所帶來的回報效益,各有想像,也是藝團產業化的重大阻力之一。小西的〈香港芭蕾舞團的文化產業之路?〉,分析了香港藝團的策劃及市場拓展與發展文化產業化的(不)可能性。

 

四篇文章無法呈現香港舞蹈整年的完整面貌,但在《概述》的資源及架構限制下,我們仍竭盡所能。本地舞蹈書寫的規模比其他藝術範疇狹窄,可邀約的作者比較少,以致限制也較大。以文章字數及研究深度來說,未及學院論文程度,但幾位作者以其專業,宏觀地書寫了本地舞蹈的不同情況。

 

《香港舞蹈概述2017》由香港藝術發展局資助,以電子形式刊出,FELIXISM CREATION承辦,李海燕、黃頌茹、陳偉基(肥力)策劃及編輯,獲各位作者、受訪機構及人士支持,才得以完成,在此由衷感激。文章可於本網站閱覽及下載,《香港舞蹈概述 2018》亦將於 2021 年第一季上載。網站以促進香港舞蹈研究為任,在未有資助的情況下,在《概述》的基礎上逐步建立更多內容,分享資訊, 包括由本編輯室策劃的其他項目、「駐場研究員」分享文獻室,等等。希望關心本地舞蹈的人士及來自四面八方的讀者支持,給予意見,煩請雅正。

 中文版

English version