‘Development in Progress’:
Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance

Yau See-wing Catherine

Translator: Lee Wan-ling Mary

In the 1960s, as an immense Hispanic population poured into the United States, these immigrants and their descendants gradually developed a culture of their own to vent their suffering as they led lives of oppression and marginalisation. Hence in the 1970s, a unique dance culture began on the two coasts of the United States. Marginalised, their dance was not accepted in the respected circles and could only take place on the streets, and so was called ‘street dance’. There are many different forms of street dance, such as Breaking, Hip Hop, Locking, Popping, and House. As a means of emotional release, these dances always imply indignation, anti-mainstream, and anti-establishment. Another characteristic of street dance is its combative nature. Called ‘Battle’ or ‘Cypher’, these dance competitions allow combatants to challenge each other as a way to amuse and entertain.

 

As street dance continues to develop, it eventually reaches the wider public, and is introduced to many places outside the United States. It can be found in the commercial world while its appearance in popular music and films such as Wild Style and the Step Up series enhances its exposure to an even bigger audience. The craze brings street dance from the streets into dance studios, and to a certain extent formalises it. The inclusion of Breaking in the 2020 Olympic Games further testifies to the popularisation of street dance.

 

Street dance in Hong Kong enjoyed a relatively stable development in the late 1990s, before becoming more active after 2000, when various competitions and events began to take place (Fat Joe 2017, 5). At the same time, street dance culture flourished in universities and dance studios. Relating the story of Hong Kong street dance, The Way We Dance in 2013 raised awareness among the general public. Subsequently in 2016, the Hong Kong Arts Festival produced the original dance drama Danz Up, bringing street dance into the theatre where conventionally only more formal dances were performed.

 

Built on this foundation, the development of street dance in Hong Kong has taken different forms. One to note is the ‘Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance’ (HKSDDA), established in 2016, which pursues its own path by gathering a group of like-minded street dancers to promote and popularise local street dance culture. The first-ever ‘Street Dance Theatre Development Programme: THE BOX — Street Style Lab’ (hereafter referred to as ‘THE BOX’), produced by HKSDDA in February 2019, opened up possibilities and room for discussion for street dance.

 

 ‘Street Dance Theatre’: Paving the Way for ‘What’s Next’ of Street Dance

‘Must street dance never change? Are there no further possibilities for street dance?’ Chan Wing-yip, Chairman of the second HKSDDA committee and a committee member of THE BOX begins with this question in his exploration of ‘what’s next’ for street dance. He admits that ‘street dance theatre’ is nothing new and that there have been precedents abroad but sees the importance of introducing this genre for the development of local street dance. He hopes ‘to show the officials that there are people in Hong Kong who depart from the former ways of engaging in street dance… to raise (street dance) to an artistic, or academic level.’ He also observes that there is survival space for dance practitioners coming out of institutions by creating dance pieces. He hopes that in addition to teaching classes and engaging in commercial productions, street dancers may find the additional option of working in the theatre.

 

Pong Chun-tat Louis is one of the choreographers of THE BOX. A world-class Popping dancer, Pong drew from his musical sensibilities and created Sound City Vesitage where Popping was matched with the unique sounds of the city (such as traffic signals and piling) to paint the cityscape in dance moves. As also the Chairman of the HKSDDA committee from 2021 to 2022, Pong feels deeply that ‘street dance is so niche that it is like indulging yourself in a small box, a small circle, with no way out.’ Hence, he hopes that THE BOX would ‘let different street dancers try something new’, and more importantly, to ‘present street dance in another way’, so that people from different disciplines can also appreciate street dance. The key is the ‘visibility’ of the production.

 

This ‘experiment’ triggered different reactions. Chan and Pong quote some of their friends in the street dance scene: ‘Why the theatre? You’ve chosen the streets and you stay in the gutters’, ‘Why are you doing that? Isn’t this good enough for you?’, which is also the kind of resistance or thinking that usually emerges when established patterns are being challenged.

 

At the same time, Pong also receives encouragement from some veterans and students, who find it interesting to express abstract ideas through street dance. According to him, they ‘realised that there could be another way of expression for street dance.’ This has even prompted his students to take it on.

 

As Ching Tin-long comments in her review published in dance journal/hk, although the coordination of ideas and movements in some of the works needs to be strengthened, in general, the experiment has opened up a new path for Hong Kong street dance. ‘This collaboration across different genres of street dance has broadened the horizons of the various creators, and one can see that in the future there will be more opportunities to watch street dance in the theatre. Even when the streets have disappeared, Hong Kong street dance will go international in an even more glorious stance.’ (Ching 2019).
 

Elaine Lam, general manager of HKSDDA, quotes Lau Siu-ming, a senior practitioner in the film and dance industry, on the production: ‘These theatre works should be promoted to the status of wonton noodles.’ ‘Wonton noodles’ is the synonym of ‘authenticity’. ‘That’s because street dancers are the most authentic people with an authentic style. They are not imported from anywhere.’ Lam explains that the street dance of this generation is derived by the dancers from within through self-explorations and self-learning, eventually developing their own style.

 

Promoting Street Dance from the Perspective of Cultural Heritage

With the aim of ‘promoting and popularising local street dance culture and the related performing arts, and to increase the public’s understanding of street dance and enhance appreciation’,[1] HKSDDA, in addition to exploring the possibilities of street dance through THE BOX, organises an annual series of non-mainstream street dance activities to promote street dance from a cultural heritage perspective. In order that street dancers may gain more knowledge of choreography, during the early stage of the annual THE BOX, senior dancers such as Mui Cheuk-yin and Yuri Ng were invited to lead a series of choreography workshops for interested parties. Likewise, senior lighting designer Chan Pui-yee Claudia was invited to lead the ‘Dance and Stage Lighting Design Workshop’.

 

To bring street dance closer to the young people, HKSDDA launches the ‘Street Dance Appreciation Series 2020–2021’ with the school tour programme Origin in attempt to introduce street dance culture and its positive value into the schools, allowing more teachers and students to appreciate and practise street dance in various aspects.

 

Another aim of HKSDDA is for Hong Kong street dance culture to enter the academic arena, to promote the development of street dance through knowledge production. Since the early 21st Century, some universities in the west have begun to set up research centres and publish academic journals dedicated to street dance, such as The Journal of Hip Hop Studies and Global Hip Hop Studies. Towards this end, HKSDDA invited Fat Joe, a senior street dance host, to conceive and compile the educational brochure What is Hip Hop: Street Dance in 2017. He also organised ‘Talk About Hip Hop!’ in 2018 and invited veteran street dance practitioners from various regions such as Ayumi (Japan), Crazy Kyo (Korea), Benson (Taiwan) and BouBou (France) to share the development of street dance in their respective regions. ‘Street Dance Education Seminar’ organised by HKSDDA enhanced discussions on street dance education.

 

Obviously, ‘Battle’ remains at the core of annual HKSDDA programmes. Every year, ‘Hong Kong Street Dance Championships’ (hereafter referred to as ‘Championships’) invite street dance masters from various regions to judge the competition and give master classes. To the indispensable ‘Open 1on1 Battle’ is added the ‘Experimental Street Dance Choreography Competition’ and the ‘Kid’ and ‘Youth’ categories, so that children and parents can begin participating in the street art events at an earlier stage.

 

Another significance of the Championships is its ‘localness’. Unlike other street dance competitions in Hong Kong, the Championships only accepts candidates who hold Hong Kong identity cards in an attempt to create a ‘competition of the Hong Kong people, by the Hong Kong people, for the Hong Kong people’. Seemingly exclusive and xenophobic, this approach is however very important to the development of local dancers and is one practised by countries where street dance is more mature, such as Japan and Taiwan. ‘We want to focus on local dancers, and to send contestants to different places to exchange, to raise the standard of Hong Kong dancers’, explains Pong. As a dancer candidate from Hong Kong who has participated in numerous international competitions, Pong adds, ‘It’s very “cool” to be able to represent Hong Kong… When you represent a region, you have an identity.’

 

Creating a Government-funded Street Dance Battle

The continued development of HKSDDA can be attributed to an informal meeting between Chiu Ho-yin Rex, initiator of the project, and Lo Liu Yiu-chee of the Hong Kong Dance Federation.

 

Chiu graduated from the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, majoring in Musical Dance. During his tenure at Ocean Park, he met some friends who practised street dance, and saw possibilities and excitement in the collaboration between different dance genres. In 2011, Chiu founded ‘The Autistic Genius’, aligning the network of dancers to produce cross-disciplinary performances and conduct promotional activities in schools. 

 

One of the programmes, ‘Street Dance Carnival’, brought Battle into the theatre where young people combat on stage. Lo watched the 2015 performance and raised the issue of safety. A verbal exchange led to a meeting in person. This dialogue eventually brought about the ‘Hong Kong Street Dance Championships 2015’, organised by the Hong Kong Dance Federation and a group of street dancers led by Chiu, modelled on the International Dance Organization (IDO). HKSDDA was officially established in the following year of 2016.

 

As the convenor of HKSDDA, Chiu relates the initial idea behind the foundation of the Alliance, ‘When we started, the first problem to be solved was not being able to get funding to organise Battle... So, I tried to redefine my role, and became the organiser of an administrative body and recruited people from different fields.’ He invited eight other colleagues with different focuses such as B-boy, MC and Hip Hop, who were also dedicated to the development of street dance, to be the founding members of HKSDDA. ‘We may not represent everyone in Hong Kong, but still Hong Kong should have an annual Battle that is sponsored by the government.[2] Just like in many areas, there’d be government-sponsored things, commercial things, and things initiated by students.’ And he hopes to draw on the experience of other areas and organise a government-sponsored street dance competition to create more noise and attract public participation.
 

Fighting for Resources for Sustainable Development

From the very beginning, HKSDDA’s aim has been clear: ‘To fight for more public and government resources.’ Lam, who is responsible for administration and coordination, is keenly aware of the inequalities within the funding infrastructure. First and foremost, there are not enough street dance representatives within the funding mechanism of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. In addition, while surveying and observing the number of people participating in different dance genres, Lam realises that street dance practitioners are none fewer than traditional dance practitioners. She laments, ‘Why isn’t there reliable resources for the development (of street dance)?’ She feels the need for an organisation that unites the voices and ideas of street dancers to fight for more government support for sustainable development. To which end HKSDDA is determined to produce quality programmes on an annual basis, so as to obtain the support of sponsors, practitioners and the general public, then gradually expands the scale of these programmes.


To control costs, they choose the cheaper Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) venues. Lam understands that the atmosphere of these venues is a far cry from that of the underground street dance culture, but adds, ‘It is a crossover to hold activities at LCSD venues, the setting of which is not the most suitable for Battle. But if our premise is to popularise street dance, using LCSD venues can be a strategy.’ She explains that the healthy image of LCSD venues helps to ‘win parents over’.

 

Furthermore, with the shrinking of public space in recent years, ‘there is limited outdoor space for street dance to develop properly’. Lam describes the general mood, ‘I believe that for many street dancers, there is still a long way from the street dance culture they wish to achieve.’ Introducing street dance into the theatre is therefore a matter of expediency.

 

The Next Decade of Local Street Dance

By introducing street dance into the theatre and using government resources for development, HKSDDA may be considered by some as turning to the establishment, betraying the street dance spirit of anti-establishment and sacrificing the atmosphere of improvisation and spontaneity, followed by the doubt of whether this will actually hinder the development of street dance.

 

Chan disagrees that HKSDDA has betrayed the spirit of street dance. On the contrary, by bringing people together, more resources could be obtained. The more the people are introduced to street dance, the ecology could be expanded. At the same time, different voices and practices could be engendered. ‘We are not competing for resources within the field, but to ensure that everyone gets what he needs.’ Just as THE BOX allows those who are interested in choreography to choreograph, the Championships are created for those who need a competition. ‘We are building a platform with an audience, enough competitiveness and recognition, where combatants can prove their ability and hence decide whether to pursue the career of a professional dancer or not. They see options.’ In terms of resource sharing, Chan says, ‘For instance, through our Instagram account, we share news of the field, and we also help to promote other independently initiated competitions.’

 

Lam says, ‘Why are we called the “Street Dance Development Alliance”? For me, I am most concerned with “development”. I really like this word, because it is organic, it gives people room for imagination.’ She understands that different people imagine ‘dance’ and how it can be developed differently, but she believes that ‘putting a new art form inside an old framework and language would kill its development.’ She adds, ‘As the new generation define themselves through street dance, the form will change. That is why I use the word “development”, the definition of which is left to the new generation and those on the frontline. We will set up a platform for dialogue, a chance for collision between the arts and street dance.’ The development of street dance has just begun, in the world as in Hong Kong, and they are still exploring the way to go, says she.

 

At the same time, Lam envisions the development of Hong Kong street dance. ‘I have been trying to imagine the stage it will lead to in ten years and the kinds of people it will address… If I were to imagine the Hong Kong Dance Yearbook in ten years, it will probably be addressing the many people engaged in street dance, with different voices. That is how I imagine it to be.’ She hopes that the work of HKSDDA will bring her into contact with more people, and create a bigger space for street dance lovers, allowing more diverse voices.

 

Even though Lam and the other interviewees all say that they are still in the stage of reflection and exploration, this stage must continue to induce thinking and dialogue on the development of street dance between them and the practitioners and become an important stage in the development of street dance in Hong Kong. I look forward to witnessing how this step they take today will influence the next decade of local street dance development. 

 

Endnotes

[1] See ‘Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance’ facebook.

[2] Editor’s note: According to the Hong Kong Arts Development Council website, since the founding of Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance in 2016 until the latest data available on the website in 2020, HKSDDA has received funding from HKADC every year for organising street dance competitions or promotional events. ‘HKADC Grant Recipients / Projects’, accessed 9 April 2021, https://www.hkadc.org.hk/grants-and-scholarship/grants/project-grant/recipient-list.

References

Ching, Tin-long. 2019. ‘jiedao xiaoshile, ruhe wu xiaqu? yikan “The Box — Street Style Lab” yougan’ (The Streets Disappeared, How Do We Dance On? Reviewing THE BOX - Street Style Lab’). In dance journal/hk, 21-2. Accessed 23 March 2021, https://www.dancejournalhk.com/single-post/2019/04/10/%E4%B8%AD-%E8%A1%97%E9%81%93%E6%B6%88%E5%A4%B1%E4%BA%86%EF%BC%8C%E5%A6%82%E4%BD%95%E8%88%9E%E4%B8%8B%E5%8E%BB%EF%BC%9F-%E7%9C%8B-the-box-street-style-lab-%E6%9C%89%E6%84%9F.

Fat Joe. 2017. What is Hip Hop: Street Dance, 5. Hong Kong: Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance.

Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance facebook page. Accessed 23 March 2021, https://www.facebook.com/hksdda/about.

01_The Box_S.P.A.C.E _編舞 陳紹傑 陳伯顯s.jpg

S.P.A.C.E in THE BOX – Street Style Lab (Choreographers: Billy Chan, Rain Chan). Photographer: Henry Wong @S2 Production. Image courtesy of HKSDDA.

02_The Box_聲市痕跡 Sound City Vesitage_編舞 龐俊達s.jpg

Sound City Vesitage in THE BOX – Street Style Lab (Choreographer: Louis Pong). Photographer: Henry Wong @S2 Production. Image courtesy of HKSDDA.

03_The Box_黯 am2 _編舞 蘇樂鍵s.jpg

am2 in THE BOX – Street Style Lab (Choreographer: Lokin So). Photographer: Henry Wong @S2 Production. Image courtesy of HKSDDA.

 Chinese Version

English version

overview-cover2019.png

「發展」進行中──香港街舞發展聯盟

上世紀六十年代,隨著大量拉美裔民眾移居美國,他們及其後代發展出屬於自己的文化,以宣洩受生活苦困及外界排擠下的內心感受。因此,進入七十年代,他們開始在美國東西兩岸發展了獨特的舞蹈文化。處於邊緣位置的他們,所跳的舞蹈不能登大雅之堂,只能在街上發生,因此被稱為「街舞」(Street Dance)。街舞有不同種類,例如常聽到的Breaking(霹靂舞)、Hip Hop Dance(嘻哈舞)、Locking(鎖舞)、Popping(機械舞) 及House等。作為情感發洩的工具,這類舞蹈總帶有憤慨、反主流、反建制的意味。街舞的另一特色是它的競技性,稱作「鬥舞」(Battle) 或Cypher,以舞蹈比賽,娛人娛己。

 

隨著街舞的不斷發展,街舞慢慢地走向大眾,更走出美國至世界各地。街舞亦走進商業世界,流行曲及電影像《Wild Style》及《Step Up》系列等面世,進一步讓更多人認識街舞。它的熱潮令街舞從街上走入舞蹈室,某程度上也開始把街舞規範化。2020年奧林匹克運動會剛宣布納入霹靂舞為項目之一的消息,更見證街舞的普及化。

 

香港的街舞在九十年代末有較穏定的發展,2000年後更為活躍,發展了不同形式的比賽及活動(肥Joe 2017,5)。大學及舞蹈室的街舞文化亦越趨成熟。2013年上映的《狂舞派》更令街舞界以外的大眾人士認識香港的街舞故事。隨後,香港藝術節於2016 年製作本地原創舞劇《炫舞場》,更把街舞帶入劇場,打破一貫劇場只上演某類較正規舞蹈的規範。

 

在這個土壤之上,香港的街舞以不同形式發展開來。其中在2016年成立的「香港街舞發展聯盟」(Hong Kong Street Dance Development Alliance,下稱HKSDDA)走出獨自經營的路向,結合一班志同道合的街舞朋友,以推廣及普及本地街舞文化為目標,十分值得關注。它們在2019年2月首次製作的「街舞劇場」《THE BOX – Street Style Lab》(下稱《THE BOX》),更打開了街舞的可能性及討論空間。

 

「街舞劇場」──為街舞創建「之後」

「街舞就不會變?街舞就没有之後嗎?」身為HKSDDA第二屆委員會主席及《THE BOX》委員會成員的陳頴業(業)從這個問題出發,發掘街舞的「之後」。他坦言「街舞劇場」並非全新的形式,在國外早有先例,但卻看到在香港引入這種形式對發展本地街舞的重要性。他希望「給官方人士知道,香港有人不再以以往的形式搞街舞……想(把街舞)提升到一個藝術水平去展現,或學術水平上。」他更觀察到學院派的舞蹈從業員在創作上的生存空間,因此他希望街舞的舞者除了教課及參與商業製作外,在事業發展上能增加在劇場創作的選擇。

 

龐俊達(Louis)是《THE BOX》其中一位編舞。作為機械舞的世界級選手,他在作品《聲市痕跡》嘗試以他的音樂觸覺,以機械舞配合香港都市獨特的聲音(如交通燈柱發出的聲音及打樁聲等)去舞出一幅屬於這個城市的獨有景觀。同時是HKSDDA 2021至2022年度的委員會主席的他,深感「街舞比較小眾,好像在一個框框、一個圈子裡自己玩自己的東西,没有一個方法可以走到出去」,因此他希望《THE BOX》讓「不同的街舞人去試一下第二個想法」,但更重要的是能以「另一種方法去呈現街舞」,讓不同界別的朋友可以去看一看街舞,重點在製作的「展示性」。

 

這個「實驗」引發了不同的反應,業及Louis引述一些街舞界的朋友所說:「為甚麼要進入劇場?你跳你就輸一世啦!」或「為甚麼要這樣做呀?平時跳的不是幾好嗎?」想必這也是一些行之有效的固有模式受到衝擊時,所引發的抗拒或思考。

 

同時,Louis也收到一些舞蹈前輩及自己學生的鼓勵,覺得利用街舞表達一些抽象的意念很有趣,他說他們「發覺原來街舞都可以有另一個表達方式。」這甚至令他的學生也想試試。

 

程天朗也在《舞蹈手扎》中的評論提到,雖然有些作品在意念和舞蹈的配合上還需加強;但總的,這次實驗開闊了香港街舞的道路:「這次街舞跨界舞蹈合作企劃擴闊了各方位創作人的眼界,可見未來會有更多機會觀賞街舞劇場作品,即使街道消失,香港街舞以更亮麗的姿態走向國際。」(程天朗2019,12)

 

HKSDDA的總經理林奕玲(Elaine)引述影視及舞蹈界前輩劉兆銘對製作的評價:「『應該將這些劇場發揚光大,要令它做到好似雲吞麵』」。所謂「雲吞麵」,意指夠「地道」。「『因為街舞的舞者都是最地道的人、地道的風格,不是外來的東西。』」Elaine 解釋這一代的舞者都是自己衍生出來、自己去摸、自己去學街舞,再發展出自己的風格。

 

以文化傳承的角度推廣街舞

以「推廣及普及本地街舞文化及其相關表演藝術,加深大眾對街舞文化的認識及提升其欣賞能力」[1] 為目標的HKSDDA,除了以《THE BOX》開拓街舞的可能性外,還每年籌辦一系列非主流的街舞活動,以文化傳承的角度去推廣街舞。為了讓街舞的舞者掌握更多編舞的知識,他們在每年的《THE BOX》計劃前期便邀請資深舞蹈家,如梅卓燕、伍宇烈,為有興趣在這方面探索的朋友舉辦一系列編舞工作坊;亦邀請資深燈光設計師陳佩儀舉辦「舞蹈與舞台燈光設計工作坊」。

 

為了進一步讓街舞在青年人當中植根,他們在2020至2021年度的「街舞賞識系列」推出學校巡演計劃《源》,嘗試把街舞的文化及正向價值帶進校園,讓更多老師及學生從多方面欣賞及實踐街舞。

 

HKSDDA的另一個目標是希望香港的街舞文化在學術上佔一席位,在建構知識上進一步推進街舞的發展。歐美等地在二十一世紀初便有大學設立研究中心,並出版期刊討論街舞,如《The Journal of Hip Hop Studies》及《Global Hip Hop Studies》。聯盟也在這方面努力,2017年他們邀請到資深街舞主持肥Joe構思及撰寫教育小冊子《講嘻哈-街舞篇》,亦在2018年舉辦「嘻哈文化研討會」,邀請到多個地區的資深街舞朋友,如AYUMI (日本)、Crazy Kyo(韓國)、小黑(台灣)及BOUBOU(法國)等人分享街舞在各地的發展。他們更舉辦「街舞教育研討會」,增加街舞敎育的討論。

 

當然,鬥舞(Battle)還是HKSDDA每年計劃的核心項目。每年「香港街舞公開賽」(下稱「公開賽」)邀請多個地區的街舞大師到港作比賽評審及教授大師班。除了不可或缺的一對一「公開組鬥舞總決賽」外,他們更增設「實驗性街舞編舞比賽」,以及開創「兒童組」及「青年組」的街舞編舞比賽,讓小朋友及家長能一早參與及觀賞街舞活動的進行。

 

「公開賽」的另一重點在於其「本地性」。異於本地其他街舞比賽,「公開賽」只接受具香港身分證的舞者參與,嘗試打造一個「屬於香港人的比賽」。這個看似排外的做法,卻對發展本地的舞者十分重要,而且在一些街舞發展較成熟的國家,如日本及台灣亦早有實踐。「我們希望聚焦本地的舞者,亦好想將參賽者送到不同的地方作交流,去提升香港舞者的質素。」Louis解釋。作為多次以香港身分參與國際賽事的舞者選手,他續說:「可以代表香港,是很『爽』的一回事······你代表一個地區,你有一個地區的identity(身分)。」

 

打造由政府資助的街舞Battle盛會

HKSDDA 能發展至今天,全由大旗手趙浩然(Rex)及香港舞蹈總會行政總監羅廖耀芝(羅太)的一個非正式會議促成。

 

Rex畢業於香港演藝學院,主修音樂劇舞。他在任職海洋公園期間,結識了一班跳街舞的朋友,深感不同舞種跨形式的可能性及趣味。於是他在2011年成立了舞團「結界達人」,並結合以往的舞者網絡,製作跨界別演出以及在學校進行推廣活動。

 

其中一個計劃「街舞樂翻天」把Battle帶進劇場,讓青年人在台上比舞。羅太剛好看了2015年的演出,並提出了安全性的問題。原本在文字上的交流最後變成兩位親身見面,交流看法。這個對話最後促成了由香港舞蹈總會及Rex所牽頭的一班街舞人士主辦、以國際舞蹈組織(International Dance Organization,IDO) 為藍本的《香港街舞公開賽2015》。HKSDDA亦正式在翌年2016年成立。

 

作為HKSDDA的召集人,Rex談到最初成立聯盟的想法:「開始做的時候,第一件要解決的問題就是『搞Battle拿不到資助』······於是我嘗試整頓行頭,試作為行政結構的推手,在每一個範疇找一些人回來。」於是他邀請到另外八位專注於B-boy、MC、嘻哈等不同街舞種類、同樣有心發展街舞的朋友作為聯盟的創始成員。「我們不代表整個香港,但香港總需要每年有一個代表街舞的Battle盛會,算是政府資助的。[2] 就好像其他地方一樣,有政府資助的東西,也有商業的東西,也有學生搞的東西。」因此,他希望借鏡其他地方的經驗,籌辦一個由政府資助的街舞比賽,製造更多的聲音吸引大眾參與。

 

爭取資源以持續發展

因此從一開始,聯盟「旨在爭取更多公眾以及政府資源」的目標便十分清晰。負責行政及統籌的Elaine深感資助架構的不公,首先在香港藝術發術局的資助機制裡並没有足夠的街舞代表;此外,在查閱及觀察香港參與不同舞種的人數上看,她發現街舞的參與者絶不比其他傳統舞種的人數少,因此她慨嘆「為何(街舞)没有一個很穏定的資源去發展?」她深感要以一個組織去聯合街舞人的聲音及想法,以爭取更多政府資源去持續發展。因此,聯盟決心逐步把每年的計劃做好,從而得到資助者、業界及大眾的支持,再慢慢擴大項目的規模。

 

因要控制成本,他們選擇了場租便宜的康樂及文化事務署(康文署)場地。Elaine深明這個氛圍與地下的街舞文化很有距離,但她卻謂「入康文署搞活動是一個跨越。康文署的setting(設定)是不適合搞Battle的,不過如果我們想象要將街舞普及化,在這個前提下,康文署的場地其實是一個策略。」她解釋康文署較健康的場地形象亦能「贏取家長的信心」。

 

而且,近年在公共空間不斷收縮的情況下,「外在環境可以好好地容許發展街頭文化的空間是很有限」。她感受到現時整個氛圍:「我深信對很多街舞人來說,跟他們很想做到的街舞文化是有一段距離。」因此,把街舞引入劇場也是「權宜之計」。

 

本地街舞的下一個十年

HKSDDA把街舞帶進劇場,並拿政府資源作發展之用,有些人可能會覺得他們走入「建制」,把原初街舞反建制的精神推倒,犠牲了街舞那份即興當下的氛圍,並質疑這會否窒礙街舞的發展。

 

業不認同聯會的做法犠牲了街舞的精神,反之因為集結一班人的力量,可以爭取更多的資源,讓更多人認識街舞,從而拓展整個生態,更有機會讓街舞不同的聲音及做法隨之衍生:「我們不是要和業界去爭資源,我們做的事是令大家各取所需。」就像「街舞劇場」讓有興趣編舞的朋友有編舞的機會;「公開賽」也是為需要比賽的朋友而設,「搞這個平台,有觀眾、足夠的競技性,本身的認受性,參賽者的成績可以反映他的能力,令他可以選擇會否繼續發展成為一個職業舞者,他可以再有很多選擇。」在資源分享上,他續說:「像ig (Instagram)的營運上,我們會分享整個業界的消息,其他以個人能力去搞的比賽,我們都會幫手宣傳。」

 

Elaine補充說:「為什麼叫『街舞發展聯盟』?我自己是看『發展』這件事……我很喜歡『發展』這個字,因為它很organic(有機),給大家較大的想象空間。」她明白不同的人對「舞蹈」及其發展的想象,可以有很大差異,但她認為「如果將一些新興的藝術放在舊的框架裡面,就會讓語言框死了(它的發展)。」她繼續:「隨著新世代因著街舞去定義自己,形式會越來越不同,因此我會利用『發展』這個字,讓一些新世代、最前線的人去定義。我們會設立一個對話的平台,提供一個給藝文界及街舞界碰撞(想法)的機會。」她說街舞於世界及香港的發展時間尚短,因此,怎樣的發展才是最好,大家都在摸索當中。

 

同時,她亦憧憬香港街舞的發展,她想象:「我一直在picture(構想)十年後那個(發展的)階梯可以去到哪裡,可以address(指涉)到怎樣的一班人······如果我要picture十年後的舞蹈年鑑時,要怎樣去address 有很多人跳(街舞),有不同的聲音,這正正是我的想象。」她期望HKSDDA的工作能接觸更多朋友,為喜歡街舞的朋友開創更大的空間,讓街舞的聲音越來越多元。

 

縱使Elaine及其他受訪者都說他們還處於反思及摸索的階段,但這一步將會繼續誘發他們與業界間對街舞發展的思考及對話,也將成為香港本地街舞發展的重要一頁。我期待看他們今天踏出的這一步,怎樣影響本地街舞發展的下一個十年。

 

[1] 摘自香港街舞發展聯盟facebook專頁:〈關於〉。

[2] 編按:翻查香港藝術發展局網站,香港街舞發展聯盟自2016年成立起,截至網站最新紀錄的2020年,每年皆獲香港藝術發展局資助舉辦街舞比賽或推廣活動。香港藝術發展局,〈HKADC資助藝團 / 計劃總覽〉。<https://www.hkadc.org.hk/grants-and-scholarship/grants/project-grant/recipient-list>(檢索日期:2021年4月9日)。

參照書目:

肥Joe:《講嘻哈─街舞篇》,香港:香港街舞發展聯盟,2017年。

香港街舞發展聯盟facebook專頁:〈關於〉,<https://www.facebook.com/hksdda/about>(檢索日期:2021年3月23日)。

程天朗:〈街道消失了,如何舞下去?──看《THE BOX- Street Style Lab》有感〉,香港:《舞蹈手扎》21-2,2019年4至5月,頁12。


 

01_The Box_S.P.A.C.E _編舞 陳紹傑 陳伯顯s.jpg

《THE BOX – Street Style Lab》之《S.P.A.C.E》(編舞:陳紹傑、陳伯顯)|攝影:Henry Wong @S2 Production|圖片由香港街舞發展聯盟提供

02_The Box_聲市痕跡 Sound City Vesitage_編舞 龐俊達s.jpg

《THE BOX – Street Style Lab》之《聲市痕跡》(編舞:龐俊達)|攝影:Henry Wong @S2 Production|圖片由香港街舞發展聯盟提供

03_The Box_黯 am2 _編舞 蘇樂鍵s.jpg

《THE BOX – Street Style Lab》之《黯》(編舞:蘇樂鍵)|攝影:Henry Wong @S2 Production|圖片由香港街舞發展聯盟提供

 中文版

English version

overview-cover2019.png